Mepe St. Kizito SHTS Wins 2017 NUTSA Quiz Competition

National Union of Tongu Students and Association (NUTSA) in the Volta Region has appealed to Members of Parliament (MPs) for North, Central and South Tongu constituencies to put in place measures to help improve the educational standard of students in the towns and villages of the three districts.

Teaching Assistant at the Department of Geography and Regional Planning of the University of Cape Coast, Mr. Ernest Anderson Adzrago, made the call during the awards ceremony of the annual quiz competition for the ten senior high schools.

The event, which was held at the Assembly Hall of Adidome Senior High School, was organised by NUTSA with the support of the three Members of Parliament (MPs) of the North, Central and South Tongu constituencies—Mr. Samuel Okudzeto Ablakwa, Mr. Gabby Alex Hotordze and Mr. Kobby Woyome respectively.

In all, Mepe St. Kizito Senior High Technical School (SHTS) was crowned champions of the 2017 NUTSA annual quiz competition with 54 points, followed by Adidome Senior High School (SHS) with 48 points and St. Catherine Senior High School (SHS) took the third position with 36 points.

After the final round of the competition and before the results were declared, the Quiz Master, Mr. Ernest Anderson Adzrago, took the opportunity to speak about some challenges facing the forward match of the union and the development of Tongu in general.

Mr. Adzrago lashed out at the district assemblies, education offices and some notable people in Tongu who do not help the union to assist the young ones to climb the academic ladder.

He said most of the funds the union used were those from ordinary members of the union who have to starve themselves off the small monies given them by their parents to make sure they organise these programmes to motivate their brothers and sisters.

He also expressed disappointment at the way some schools in the district also do not value the efforts of NUTSA in promoting education in Tongu.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *