Check Out The 2016 MTV Africa Music Awards Winners – See Photos Here!!!

The 2016 edition of the MTV Base Africa Music Awards happened on Saturday, 22nd October at the Ticket Pro Dome, Johannesburg,  South Africa.



The show which was hosted by Bonang Matheba, Yemi Alade and Nomzamo Mbatha saw performances from the international act, Future and a collection of Africa’s finest – Wizkid, Yemi Alade, Diamond, Emtee, Kwesta, Patoranking, Alikiba, Babes Wodumo, Cassper Nyovest, Nasty C, Ycee to mention but a few.

Here are the winners of the 2016 edition of the award show:

Best Male

AKA (South Africa)

Black Coffee (South Africa)

Diamond (Tanzania)

Patoranking (Nigeria)

Wizkid (Nigeria) – Winner

Image: WizkidAyo/Instagram

Image: WizkidAyo/Instagram


Best Female

Mz Vee (Ghana)

Tiwa Savage (Nigeria)

Vanessa Mdee (Tanzania)

Yemi Alade (Nigeria) – Winner


Best Live

Cassper Nyovest (South Africa) – Winner

Eddy Kenzo (Uganda)

Flavour (Nigeria)

Mafikizolo (South Africa)

ALSO READ  Ghanaian Celebrities Want John Mahama To Win 2016 Presidential Elections

Stonebwoy (Ghana)

Image: Channel O

Image: Channel O


Best Group

Mi Casa (South Africa)

Navy Kenzo (Tanzania)

R2bees (Ghana)

Sauti Sol (Kenya) – Winner

Toofan (Togo)



Best Collaboration

AKA feat. Burna Boy, Khuli Chana & Yanga – “Baddest” (South Africa/Nigeria)

DJ Maphorisa feat. Wizkid & DJ Bucks – “Soweto Baby” (South Africa/Nigeria) – Winner

Nasty C feat. Davido, Cassper – “Juice Back Remix” (Nigeria/South Africa)

Patoranking feat. Sarkodie – “No Kissing” (Nigeria/Ghana)

Sauti Sol feat. Alikiba – “Unconditionally Bae” (Kenya/Tanzania)


Image: YouTube


Best Hip Hop

Emtee (South Africa) – Winner

Kiff No Beat (Ivory Coast)

Olamide (Nigeria)

Riky Rick (South Africa)

Ycee (Nigeria)


Image: Channel24


Best Pop/Alternative

Desmond & The Tutus (South Africa)

LCNVL (South Africa)

Shekinah (South Africa) / Kyle Deutsch (South Africa) – Winner

Timo ODV (South Africa)

Tresor (DRC)

Image: Afternoon Express

Image: Afternoon Express


Best Lusophone

C4 Pedro (Angola) – Winner

NGA (Angola)

Lizha James (Mozambique)

Nelson Freitas (Netherlands/Cape Verde)

Preto Show (Angola)

Image: Pinterest

Image: Pinterest


Best Francophone

Franko (Cameroon)

Magasco (Cameroon)

J-Rio (Gabon)

Serge Beynaud (Ivory Coast) – Winner

Toofan (Togo)

Image: Ivoir Mix DJ

Image: Ivoir Mix DJ


Personality of the Year

Caster Semenya (South Africa) – Winner

Linda Ikeji (Nigeria)

Pearl Thusi (South Africa)

Pierre Emerick Aubameyang (Gabon)

Wizkid (Nigeria)

Caster Semenya

Image: CBC


Best International

Adele (UK)

Beyoncé (USA)

Drake (Canada) – Winner

Future (USA)

Rihanna (Barbados)

Image: Reddit

Image: Reddit


Legacy Award

Hugh Masekela

hugh mase


Best Breakthrough

Babes Wodumo (South Africa)

Emtee (South Africa)

Falz (Nigeria)

Franko (Cameroon)

Nasty C (South Africa)

Nathi (South Africa)

Raymond (Tanzania)

Simi (Nigeria)

Tekno (Nigeria) – Winner


Images: Bella Naija


Song Of The Year

‘Shaktibobo’ – Olamide (Nigeria)

‘Reggae Blues’ – Harrysongz feat Olamide, Kcee & Iyanya, Orezi (Nigeria)

‘My Woman, My Everything’ – Patoranking feat. Wande Coal (Nigeria) – Winner

‘Godwin’ – Korede Bello (Nigeria)

‘Ngud’ – Kwesta feat. Cassper (South Africa)

‘Roll Up Re-Up’ – Emtee feat. Wizkid and AKA (South Africa/Nigeria)

‘Soweto Baby’ – DJ Maphorisa feat. Wizkid (South Africa/Nigeria)

‘Baddes’ – AKA feat. Burna Boy, Khuli Chana, Yanga (South Africa/Nigeria)

‘Wololo’ – Babes Wodumo feat. Mampintsha (South Africa)

‘Coller la Petite’ – Franko (Cameroon)

‘Unconditionally bae’ – Sauti Sol feat. Alikiba (Kenya/Tanzania)


Images by Pulse NG


Video Of The Year

‘Jump’ – Anatii & Cassper feat. Nasty C (South Africa); Director: Kyle Lewis

‘Caviar Dreams’ – AL Bairre & PhFAT (South Africa); Director: Daniel Levi

‘If I Start to Talk’ – Tiwa Savage feat. Dr Sid (South Africa); Director: Clarence Peters

‘Kisasi Kumi’ – Sheeba (Uganda) – Director: Sasha Vybz

‘Niquer Ma Vie’ – Youssoupha (Congo) – Director: Antony Abdelli & Jose Eon – Winner


Image: Festival-ODP


Artist Of The Year

Black Coffee (South Africa)

Diamond (Tanzania)

Sauti Sol (Kenya)

Wizkid (Nigeria) – Winner

Yemi Alade (Nigeria)


Image: 360Nobs

Listeners Choice Awards

Jah Prayzah


Image: Bulawayo24News


Congratulations to the winners!


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *